remember me

It was a Christmas miracle: I tested negative for Covid on December 25th. It was nice to have a normal day with our two kids. I realize how fortunate we are that my wife and I had a relatively easy time dealing with the virus. Many people have had it much worse.

I was telling my daughter about my Die Hard advent calendar; since I haven’t been in the office since the 7th, Hans Gruber never completed his fateful fall from the Nakatomi Tower. She said it would be really sad for my coworkers if I had died from the virus and they found Hans pinned to day #7, knowing I would never return to have a laugh about it. I guess she’s right, although there would be much bigger concerns for my family if I didn’t make it.

I am also reminded that I need to start my next project: creating a “what to do if I die” file for my family. I’ll make paper and digital files with important account numbers, passwords, contact information, etc. I might include a list of GPS points where I want some ashes scattered, although I’ll make that optional.

I know I want to be cremated – it seems like the least harmful method of disposal – but I really don’t care what is done with my remains. Funerals and memorials are for the living, not the dead. Since I don’t believe in any afterlife it seems meaningless to me where my ashes go. I would like my surviving family to remember me in the way they feel is best.

Okay, enough of that. My fake birthday is tomorrow; I will attempt to accomplish something I need to do, plus have a little fun with the rest of the day.

Author: fishrobber

All the information you need to know ... https://fishrobberblog.wordpress.com/about-me/

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started