peach baskets and busted brackets

I love college basketball. It’s definitely my #2 sport behind baseball, but I really enjoy tournament time. My bracket is hurting a little. I had a really good Thursday, but Friday brought chaos. I lost an Elite 8 team (St Marys) and the overall runner-up (Auburn). I’m hoping to do better today.

I have a difficult time watching the NBA right now. I used to enjoy it in the 80s through about the mid-2000s, but since then it just seems like they don’t try real hard until the 4th quarter. I don’t know if the game changed or if it’s just my preference.

I can see the college players are going all out for the entire game. Some of them have great athleticism and maturity, not letting the moment get too big for them. Part of that is coaching, but I heard someone say that the kids have to want to be coached. I’ve never played anything at that level, but it makes sense that a player with a big ego might not do very well in a situation where the coach is trying to teach the game.

I love watching because for 40 minutes there’s no politics, no crime, no culture wars, and no millionaires inside the lines; just a ball, a basket, and teammates working together for a common goal. Corny or naive, maybe, but still very enjoyable.

Author: fishrobber

All the information you need to know ... https://fishrobberblog.wordpress.com/about-me/

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started